Cooper University Health Care

Events

Mindfulness for Cancer Survivors


Mindfulness-based stress reduction is a consciousness discipline that is grounded in Eastern practices and focuses on awareness of the present moment. Using techniques by founder Jon Kabat-Zinn, PhD, it aims to teach people to deal more effectively with experience through awareness of feelings, thoughts, and bodily sensations. Cancer survivors learn to engage in mindfulness practices, such as body scan, simple yoga exercises, and meditation.

Substantial research has demonstrated how mindfulness–based practice improves mental and physical health and can help people cope with stress, anxiety, pain, and illness.

All Dr. Diane Barton Complementary Medicine Programs are free, but are limited to cancer survivors.

Upcoming Sessions


Cooper Clock Tower

931 Centennial Boulevard, Voorhees, NJ 08043
Thursday, Jul. 26, 2018 12:30 pm - 1:30 pm FREE Register Now
Thursday, Aug. 2, 2018 12:30 pm - 1:30 pm FREE Register Now
Thursday, Aug. 9, 2018 12:30 pm - 1:30 pm FREE Register Now
Thursday, Aug. 16, 2018 12:30 pm - 1:30 pm FREE Register Now
Thursday, Aug. 23, 2018 12:30 pm - 1:30 pm FREE Register Now
Thursday, Sep. 13, 2018 12:30 pm - 1:30 pm FREE Register Now
Thursday, Sep. 20, 2018 12:30 pm - 1:30 pm FREE Register Now
Thursday, Sep. 27, 2018 12:30 pm - 1:30 pm FREE Register Now
Thursday, Oct. 4, 2018 12:30 pm - 1:30 pm FREE Register Now
Thursday, Oct. 11, 2018 12:30 pm - 1:30 pm FREE Register Now
Thursday, Oct. 18, 2018 12:30 pm - 1:30 pm FREE Register Now
Thursday, Oct. 25, 2018 12:30 pm - 1:30 pm FREE Register Now
Thursday, Nov. 8, 2018 12:30 pm - 1:30 pm FREE Register Now
Thursday, Nov. 15, 2018 12:30 pm - 1:30 pm FREE Register Now

Reviews


Planning to attend? Register online, attend the event, and then visit this page to share your thoughts.

There are currently no reviews posted for the event.

Add Review

Stay Connected

Subscrible to our monthly newsletter.

Sign Up